Clearwater Drug Possession Attorney
Our Drug Crime Attorneys Are Prepared to Help You
Accusations of possession of illegal drugs are serious business in Florida. Our state has some of the strictest laws in the entire country, and the penalties are likewise some of the harshest you will find anywhere. If you are arrested and charged with drug possession, it is important that you contact a skilled Clearwater criminal defense attorney for representation as soon as possible.
At Tinny, Meyer & Piccarreto, P.A., we understand the seriousness of drug crime accusations, and we work hard to fight for the rights and freedoms of those who are facing the criminal justice system. Attorney Donald F. Tinny has served previously as a prosecutor for the State Attorneys’ Office, where he gained invaluable insight into the methods and arguments they frequently use. As a defense attorney, this gives him an invaluable edge in developing an effective criminal defense.
Trust your case to a firm with over 35 years of combined experience; call Tinny, Myer & Piccarreto, P.A. today by dialing (727) 245-9009.
Strict Laws; Serious Consequences
Florida has very little tolerance for illegal drugs, jumping straight to a 3rd degree felony charge for possession any amount of most illegal drugs. Likewise, Florida is also extraordinarily strict on prescription drugs due to a history of issues with addiction and illegal trade of painkiller medications.
- Your penalties could vary, depending on:
- The type of substance you are found in possession of
- The amount of that substance you are found in possession of
- Where you are found in possession of it
- Your intent in possessing it
For possession of any amount of drug, including cocaine, meth, or many other drugs, you could be facing a 3rd degree felony, meaning a potential prison sentence of five years and a $5,000 fine. Unlawful chemicals, including ecstasy or GHB, could land you a 2nd degree felony (up to 15 years in prison; $10,000 fine). Possessing more than 10 grams of heroin is considered a 1st degree felony (up to 30 years in prison, $10,000 fine).