Clearwater Assault Crimes Lawyer
Contact Us Today at (727) 245-9009 to Help Defend Your Rights
If you are facing assault charges, you likely know it is a very serious legal matter which could lead to severe consequences. At Tinny, Meyer & Piccarreto, P.A., our Clearwater criminal defense attorneys take accusations and arrests of violent crimes very seriously. We have 35 years of combined experience defending individuals like yourself against all types of crimes, always protecting our clients' rights. Our legal team investigates every case we take on thoroughly and fights aggressively for your freedom.
We proudly serve clients throughout Clearwater, St. Petersburg, New Port Richey and Pinellas, Pasco, and Hillsborough Counties.
Serving Clearwater's Violent Crime Cases
If you are convicted of assault charges, you could be facing time in jail or prison, heavy fines, and required probation. You will also have a permanent criminal record, which can adversely affect your reputation and your future. Our Clearwater criminal defense lawyers understand how much is at risk when you are arrested for assault and we are committed to protecting your rights and future.
We defend clients against a number of assault charges, such as:
- Simple assault
- Aggravated assault
- Assault with a deadly weapon
In order to reach a conviction for assault, the prosecution must be able to prove that there was an intention and actual ability to harm the alleged victim. Even if they have evidence that you allegedly prepared to commit an attack, this is not sufficient evidence. They must illustrate that you have not only taken a substantial step towards harming someone else, but also that the victim was in fear of being harmed.
What's the Difference Between Assault and Battery in Florida?
In Florida, assault and battery are two separate criminal offenses that are often charged together. The difference between assault and battery in Florida is as follows:
Assault is defined as the intentional threat of violence or harm towards another person, with the apparent ability to carry out the threat. In Florida, assault is a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500.
Battery is defined as the intentional and unlawful touching or striking of another person against their will, or intentionally causing bodily harm to another person. In Florida, battery can be charged as a first-degree misdemeanor or a third-degree felony, depending on the severity of the offense. A first-degree misdemeanor battery is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $1,000, while a third-degree felony battery is punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
In Florida, assault and battery charges are often brought together because they are closely related offenses. For example, if a person threatens to harm another person and then follows through with physical violence, they could be charged with both assault and battery. Additionally, aggravated assault and aggravated battery charges may apply if a deadly weapon or serious bodily injury is involved.
Request a Free Criminal Defense Consultation Today
Our firm has had great success with getting assault charges reduced and even dismissed by building defense strategies for our clients. We are here to answer your questions and ensure you understand your legal options.