Across the country, there has been a lot happening in regard to marijuana reform. Some states, such as California, Colorado, and Nevada, have virtually decriminalized marijuana possession for recreational use. However, just because some states are decriminalizing pot and edibles, that doesn’t mean it’s legal in all states.
Florida, along with states, such as Arizona, Texas, and Utah, still has strict laws against marijuana – whether it’s for possession, cultivation, or sales. One reason is that Florida is a hotbed for drug trafficking.
Marijuana Laws: Colorado vs. Florida
To illustrate how harsh Florida’s drugs laws are, let’s compare Florida to Colorado. In Colorado, possession of one ounce or less of marijuana is not a crime as long as you’re 21 or older. Possession of more than one ounce to two ounces incurs a maximum fine of $100.
In Florida, if you possess 20 grams or less of marijuana, you commit a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $1,000, and up to one year in jail. If you have more than 20 grams to 25 pounds, you commit a felony, punishable by up to $5,000, and up to five years in prison. So, a marijuana offense that may be a $100 slap on the wrist in a state like Colorado, could land you in a Florida prison for up to five years! In other words, marijuana possession is NOT legal in Florida, and if you’re caught you can get into serious legal trouble.
Florida’s Possession Laws
- Possession of 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
- Possession of more than 20 grams to 25 pounds is a felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine up to $5,000.
- Possession of more than 25 pounds, but less than 2000 pounds is a felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison, and a fine not to exceed $25,000.
We are only scratching the surface in regard to marijuana charges in Florida. If you’re charged with marijuana possession, sales, or another drug offense in Clearwater, we urge you to contact our firm at (727) 245-9009.