In all 50 states, it’s against the law to drive a vehicle while under the influence (DUI) of alcohol, illegal drugs, and even lawfully prescribed medications. While it’s illegal to drive with a blood alcohol level (BAL) of .08% or above, a lot of Floridians don’t realize that they can actually be arrested for, and convicted of DUI if their BAL is under the .08% legal limit.
All that the state has to prove is that the defendant’s ability to drive safely was impaired by the introduction of alcohol, drugs, or a chemical substance. If you’re facing DUI charges for the second time, it’s important to understand that DUI is called a “priorable offense,” which means the penalties for each DUI increase with each subsequent conviction.
Second DUI Penalties in Florida
The offense of driving under the influence is criminalized under Section 316.193 of the Florida Statutes. Under Florida law, a first DUI is punishable by a fine between $500 and $2,000, up to nine months in jail, and license revocation from 180 days to a maximum of three years depending if anyone was injured.
Second DUI Penalties
- A fine between $1,000 and $4,000,
- Up to 12 months in jail,
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID) requirement for at least one year,
- DUI School if second DUI conviction within five years,
- Minimum five years license revocation within five years of first DUI conviction, OR
- Maximum one-year license revocation if the second DUI was more than five years from the first conviction.
If you are facing your first, second, or third DUI, you need strong legal representation. The last thing you want to do is accept your punishment without exploring your legal defenses. To protect your legal rights and fight your DUI charges, contact our Clearwater criminal defense firm to request a consultation.